For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.


The board of the Central PhD Council consists of six members representing the different faculties of the University of Amsterdam.

PhD candidates of the AMC are united in their own PhD candidate association APROVE. Below you will find information about the current board members of the Central PhD Council.

Debby ten Hove
Debby ten Hove

Debby ten Hove – Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Debby ten Hove is a PhD candidate at the Research Institute of Child Development and Education (RICDE). Her research focuses on the use of interrater reliability coefficients for (inter)dependent data. The aim of her project is to investigate and develop interrater reliability coefficients that are useful for social and behavioural research. Debby started her PhD project in September 2018, and has represented the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences in the Central PhD Council since November 2019.

Danuta Mazurel
Danuta Mazurel

Danuta Mazurel – Faculty of Dentistry

Danuta Mazurel is a PhD candidate at the Academic Centre for Dentistry in Amsterdam (ACTA). She studies the use of oral biofilms for the prevention of caries, using in vitro model systems that incorporate the complex microbial communities in the mouth. She started her PhD in January 2019. As of March 2020, she is representing the joint faculties of dentistry of the University of Amsterdam and the VU Amsterdam.

Raviar Karim

Raviar Karim – Faculty of Economics and Business

Raviar Karim is a PhD candidate at the department of Actuarial Science and Mathematical Finance (ASMF). He studies mathematical properties of contagion processes and their applications. The aim is to relax conditions on the parameters of the model and explore new extensions to obtain more general mathematical results. This added flexibility makes the model more widely applicable in a variety of fields and allows for the quantification of contagion effects. Raviar started his PhD in September 2019 and represents the Faculty of Economics and Business in the Central PhD Council as of July 2020.

Rosa de Jong
Rosa de Jong

Rosa de Jong – Faculty of Humanities

Rosa de Jong is a PhD candidate at the Amsterdam School of Historical Studies (ASH). She researches the several hundred refugees who fled from the Dutch speaking Low Countries to the Caribbean during the Second World War. Her research focuses on their arrival and reception in Jamaica, Cuba, Curaçao and Suriname and their subsequent migrations. She is also guest researcher at KITLV (Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean studies) and at NIOD (Institute for War Holocaust and Genocide Studies).

Rosa started her NWO-funded research in September 2019. As of January 2021, she is representing the Faculty of Humanities within the Central PhD Council.

Debadatta Bose

Debadatta Bose – Faculty of Law

Debadatta Bose is a doctoral researcher at the Faculty of Law in the Amsterdam Centre for International Law (ACIL) and the Amsterdam Centre for Transformative Private Law (ACT). His research focuses on the legal liability of transnational corporations directly linked to adverse human rights impacts, e.g. think of Shell and the human rights impacts of its petroleum extraction in Nigeria. His approach combines international law with private law theory to test for the conceptual sustainability of liability of such entities and their distant human rights impacts. Debadatta started his PhD in September 2019 and represents the Faculty of Law in the Central PhD Council as of September 2020.

Lisa Teichmann
Lisa Teichmann

Lisa Teichmann – Faculty of Science

Lisa Teichmann is a PhD candidate at the Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences. Her research focuses on the molecular mechanisms that are leading to the development of de novo resistance upon exposure to sub-lethal concentrations of antimicrobial agents. By knocking out different genes involved in stress-induced pathways in Escherichia coli, she is trying to investigate the impact of these cellular mechanisms on the acquisition of antimicrobial resistance. Lisa started her PhD in October 2019 and joined the Central PhD Council board as the FNWI's representative in March 2020.