For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Education Award 2021 Faculty of Humanities

After an unusual and almost entirely digital year, the Faculty of Humanities will once again be hosting the Education Award, in which a course is chosen for its innovative qualities or in which inspiring teaching methods are used.

Important dates Education Award 2021

30 April Course nomination deadline
Week of 24 May Announcement of the six nominated courses, voting starts for Audience Award (in June)
1 July, 16:00 Presentations and award ceremony of the Education Award 2021

Nominated courses

All employees and students of the Faculty were able to propose one or more courses for nomination for the Education Award 2021. The nomination deadline was 30 April. In the week of 24 May, the six courses selected by the jury from all of the nominated courses were announced: 

  • Rhetoric and Writing - (Bachelor's English Language and Culture) - Imogen Cohen
  • Contemporary World Literature - (Bachelor's English Language and Culture) – Emelia Quinn
  • Critical theories - (Master's Filosofie) - Daniel Loick
  • Ken je Plaats: Wereldbeeld, Identiteit, en Conflict, 1550 tot 1650 – (Bachelor's Geschiedenis) - Djoeke van Netten and Jonas van Tol
  • Biophilia – (Bachelor's Cultuurwetenschappen) – Erik de Jong
  • De militaire revolutie. Oorlog en samenleving in de vroegmoderne tijd - (Master's Militaire Geschiedenis) - Djoeke van Netten and Jonas van Tol

Members of the jury and Audience Award

The jury of 2021 consists of:

Sabine van Wesemael - Director Graduate School of Humanities (chair)
Judith Noorman - winner Education Award 2020 (jury and audience award)
Gerwin van der Pol - Teaching & Learning Centre (TLC) FGw
Liesje Verhave - student member of the Faculty Student Council (FSR) FGw 20/21

The six nominees will make a short video in which they will promote their course. These videos will subsequently be published on the Education Award website. The jury will choose the Education Award winner from these six nominees.

An Audience Award will also be handed out. Everyone will be able to vote for the six nominees via this webpage. The course with the most votes will win the Audience Award. Voting is now closed. View the videos of the nominated courses on the page below.

Award ceremony

The jury has chosen six courses from all nominations. During the award ceremony on 1 July (from 16:00), the jury will announce the winning course. The jury will explain its choice in a report. The winner will receive a cheque worth €1000 from the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Prof. Fred Weerman. The winner of the Audience Award will also be announced.